Posts Tagged ‘unemployed’

Please act now.  June 2009

Who Needs Our Mighty Voices? Library patrons everywhere:

  • Kids who go to these safe places to read and do homework
  • Seniors who make communities solid
  • Unemployed adults using resources and the Internet for job-search

Visit: http://savethelibraries.spaces.live.com/

Example:  In Oakland, CA

Elmhurst, Lakeview, Temescal, Golden Gate, Martin Luther King and Melrose branches would only open 2 or 3 days per week!

77.2% of Alameda County voters had voted YES to Measure Q to increase library hours and services, not cut them.

Time sensitive. City of Oakland is scheduled to adopt the two-year budget June 30, impacting 6 libraries.

Council members working hard to do “the right thing” by all Oakland residents. Library advocates say “Thank you!”


HOW CAN WE HELP ?

1.  Attend the Library Advocacy meeting on Thursday, June 25th, 6:00PM to 8:00PM, Oakland Main Library West Auditorium (125 14th Street, Oakland)

2. Sign the on-line petition on http://savethelibraries.spaces.live.com/

3.   Email or call  the mayor and council members and tell them to keep all Oakland libraries open at least 5 or 6 days a week.  Their names, phone numbers and email addresses listed below.

4.  Bring friends and neighbors to public meetings about the proposed budget and tell  City of Oakland Council Members in person.  Next meeting  Tuesday, June 30, 2009   Check   http://savethelibraries.spaces.live.com for meeting dates/times, how to sign up to speak, and print a sign: Save the Libraries.

City Council Chambers at Oakland City Hall
1 Frank H Ogawa Plaza
1 City Hall Plaza
Oakland, CA 94612

Mayor Ron Dellums (510)238-3141 officeofthemayor@oaklandnet.com
Larry Reid (510) 238-7007 lreid@oaklandnet.com
Nancy Nadel (510) 238-7003 nnadel@oaklandnet.com
Jean Quan (510) 238-7004 jquan@oaklandnet.com
Ignacio De La Fuente (510) 238-7005 idelafuente@oaklandnet.com
Desley Brooks (510) 238-7006 dbrooks@oaklandnet.com
Jane Brunner (510) 238-7001 jbrunner@oaklandnet.com
Patricia Kernighan (510) 238-7002 pkernighan@oaklandnet.com
Rebecca Kaplan (510) 238-7008 atlarge@oaklandnet.com
Director of Library Services Carmen Martinez (510) 238-3141 cmartinez@oaklandnet.com
Karen Boyd, PR Contact (510) 449-4401 KBoyd@oaklandnet.com

Tell your neighbors, friends, co-workers, colleagues about http://savethelibraries.spaces.live.com/

Tell your favorite television, radio, newspaper, on-line celebrities about   http://savethelibraries.spaces.live.com/

Library Advocates Patrick, Lakshmi, Olga and Teresa LeYung Ryan

Library Advocates Patrick Camacho, Lakshmi Kerner, Olga Malyj, and author Teresa LeYung Ryan

Background:

77.2% of Alameda County voters had voted YES to Measure Q in 2004. http://www.smartvoter.org/2004/03/02/ca/alm/meas/Q/

Let’s remind our mayor and council members that Measure Q was passed to:
(1) maintain and expand neighborhood branch library services, days, and hours; (2) maintain after school homework and tutoring programs; (3) maintain literacy and children’s programs; (4) increase librarian services to schools; (5) increase computer and technology access and (6) acquire new books and materials.

Please keep all Oakland libraries open 5  or 6 days a week!

http://savethelibraries.spaces.live.com/

Subscribe to my blog

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Archives