Help our underdog public libraries in every city, town, incorporated and unincorporated area in the United States of America!

Help our underdog public libraries in Oakland, CA. Mayor Jean Quan and City Council Members, please keep Oakland “literate” ! Libraries provide safe place for young and old; Librarians help us identify resources. Help us survive and thrive.

June 20, 2011, 6:00 am to 8:00 pm

14 Hours, 14 Branches: A Read-In to Save Oakland Libraries

Amphitheater in front of City Hall, 1 Frank Ogawa Plaza, Oakland, CA

14 Hours, 14 Branches is a 14 hour read-in being held on Monday, June 20, 2011 to raise awareness that 14 of 18 Oakland’s branch libraries (including AAMLO and the Tool Lending Library) will be eliminated under the current budget Scenario A. City Council presents their budget recommendations on Tuesday, June 21, 2011 and we want to have our voices reading for an uninterrupted 14 hours the day before to send our message loud and clear: save ALL of Oakland’s public libraries.

Save Oakland Libraries created a survey: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/XGGQD7V

Dear Friends, Neighbors, Colleagues,

Please help spread the word about June 20, 2011 Monday’s 14 hours-14 branches READ IN to save Oakland libraries.
If you can’t be there in person, please please call or email Mayor Jean Quan’s office, City Councilmembers, and Oakland City Administration.
Libraries help keep a city “safe” and literate… http://preview.tinyurl.com/14hours
City Council: http://www2.oaklandnet.com/Government/o/CityCouncil/index.htm
Mayor’s office: http://www2.oaklandnet.com/Government/o/Mayor/a/ContactUs/index.htm
I’ll be there on Monday; I’ll email too.

Mayor Jean Quan’s Office – officeofthemayor@oaklandnet.com

* District 1 – Jane Brunner    jbrunner@oaklandnet.com
* District 2 – Pat Kernighan  pkernighan@oaklandnet.com
* District 3 – Nancy Nadel  nnadel@oaklandnet.com
* District 4 – Libby Schaaf  lschaaf@oaklandnet.com
* District 5 – Ignacio De La Fuente  idelafuente@oaklandnet.com
* District 6 – Desley Brooks  dbrooks@oaklandnet.com
* District 7 – Larry Reid  lreid@oaklandnet.com
* At-Large – Rebecca Kaplan  atlarge@oaklandnet.com

Oakland City Administration – cityadministrator@oaklandnet.com

“Save Oakland Library”  saveoaklandlibrary@gmail.com

Our mighty voices are needed. Today, call or stop by your library and ask questions. Help Librarians help us. Thank you!

Thank you, Kathy Shepler, for emailing author and plot teacher Martha Alderson. Thank you, Martha, for bring this urgent matter to my attention.

Writers and Readers, please step out or shout out.  To promote literacy and help Oakland Libraries live well. I’ll see you all there!

Sincerely,

Writing Career Coach Teresa LeYung Ryan

author of Love Made of Heart

author of Build Your Writer’s Platform & Fanbase In 22 Days: Attract Agents, Editors, Publishers, Readers, and Media Attention NOW

author and writing coach Teresa LeYung Ryan uses her mighty voice to say “Help our libraries and librarians help us stay literate.”


Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to my blog

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Archives