Posts Tagged ‘New York City’

Bystander Intervention Training to STOP anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment

May 21, 30;  June 3, 10, 18, 25, 2020

Online Training is open to the public.

Sign up at: https://bit.ly/351kWO4 
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting

READ WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING ABOUT THIS TRAINING:

“This training gave me new tools to support someone experiencing discrimination. I had always thought my only option was to directly engage with the aggressor, which was terrifying to me. To know I have a lot of other tools I can use will be very helpful.” EM, Oregon State University

 

“I appreciate having clear and effective strategies that can be utilized immediately.” HNN, Bates Center for Purposeful Work

“Before this training, I doubt I would’ve intervened for fear of making things worse, but now I’m confident that I’m equipped with the skills necessary to diffuse any situation I may encounter.” BBB


The first three trainings were sold out. Please note you must register in advance for all trainings. They will be capped at 1,000 people per session.
  • completed -  May 7 and May 13 
  • Thursday, May 21st at  7:00pm ET / 6:00pm CT / 5:00pm MT / 4:00pm PT / 1:00pm HST.
  • Saturday, May 30th at  2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST.
  • Wednesday, June 3rd at  2:00pm ET / 1:00pm CT / 12:00pm MT / 11:00am PT / 8:00am HST. 
  • Wednesday, June 10th at  4:00pm ET / 3:00pm CT / 2:00pm MT / 1:00pm PT / 10:00am HST.
  • Thursday, June 18th at  7:00pm ET / 6:00pm CT / 5:00pm MT / 4:00pm PT / 1:00pm HST. 
  • Thursday, June 25th at  4:00pm ET / 3:00pm CT / 2:00pm MT / 1:00pm PT / 10:00am HST. 
After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.
The training is currently only offered in English but we are seeking funding to expand it into other languages.

Report a Hate Crime at:

Communities Against Hate https://communitiesagainsthate.org/   
Asian Americans Advancing Justice: Website - https://www.advancingjustice-aajc.org/ 
Hollaback!: Website https://www.ihollaback.org/

I wish you and everyone around you safety, kindness, excellent health, clear water, blue sky, delicious eats, and sweet laughter! Bonne journée!

author Teresa Jade LeYung, Paris 2019, photo by author Mary E. Knippel

As a story theme consultant, award-winning writer, and platform-building coach for pre-published and published authors, Teresa Jade LeYung helps her clients identify their core themes and transform their manuscripts into novels, biographies and memoirs. http://lovemadeofheart.com/blog


Enter the 80th Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition today

Compete to Win in 10 Categories:
1. Inspirational Writing (Spiritual/Religious)
2. Memoirs/Personal Essay
3. Magazine Feature Article
4. Genre Short Story (Mystery, Romance, etc.)
5. Mainstream/Literary Short Story
6. Rhyming Poetry
7. Non-Rhyming Poetry
8. Stage Play
9. Television/Movie Script
10. Children’s/Young Adult Fiction
GRAND PRIZE: $3,000 cash and a trip to the
Writer’s Digest Conference in New York City!

Submit your manuscript by May 2, 2011 for a chance to win a trip to the WD Conference in the publishing capital of the world. While you’re there, a Writer’s Digest editor will arrange for you to share your work with four editors or agents.

Check out http://www.writersdigest.com/annual

Sincerely,

Writing Career Coach Teresa LeYung Ryan

To see my website for all my books, go to:  http://writingcoachteresa.com

Build Your Writer’s Platform & Fanbase In 22 Days: Attract Agents, Editors, Publishers, Readers, and Media Attention NOW

Available through Amazon.com   Check out the reviews on Amazon!

Today I learned how to identify a hazardous tree situation and how to estimate the falling distance of a tree.  Also I learned that severe wind and saturated soil can fell a tree, even a healthy one.  I see a metaphor—sometimes under a combination of circumstances, anyone can get mental illness (falling of the mind).

I thought about what Glenn Close said in the commercial with her sister that was filmed at Grand Central Station in New York City. “1 in 6 adults suffer from a diagnosable mental illness.”

www.BringChange2Mind.org 1 in 6 adults and almost 1 in 10 children suffer from a diagnosable mental illness.

Sincerely,

Teresa LeYung Ryan   www.LoveMadeOfHeart.com

As an author and a community spirit, I, Teresa LeYung Ryan, use my novel Love Made of Heart to shed light on stigmas suffered by women, men and children with mental illness/traumas to the mind. I speak out for those who cannot speak for themselves.

Other resources:

National Alliance on Mental Illness   www.nami.org

Stamp Out Stigma  www.stampoutstigma.org Carmen Lee, founder

Subscribe to my blog

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Archives